Remaking this blog for fun and learning

1 min read

I wrote about setting up this blog a couple of years ago. It was simple - I would git push a new post to my rented server, where the hugo static site generator would convert it to .html files served by nginx. This worked well, I had no complaints.

Except. Dark mode and syntax highlighting (for programming snippets) would be nice. I use dark mode everywhere and it irked me that my own site didn't support it. I could have modified the blog's existing theme to add these features, but where's the fun in that? Also, I wanted private drafts because it's important to my writing flow

I started with this template and moidified it till it looked like this. Along the way I added dark mode, syntax highlighting and a couple of features I had on the previous website - RSS subscriptions and time to read a post.